BEST black drugstore hair dye (black)???

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey all, I've been dying my hair black since early 2007... so almost 5 years.  For those almost 5 years I was using L'Oreal Natural Match (3C - I believe... whatever the blackest black was).  I would sometimes get it professionally done when I could afford it.  Anyway, ever since they discontinue Natural Match, I've been searching FRUITLESSLY for another storebrand that I like.

Any suggestions???  I absolutely HATE Feria.  it turned out blue and WOULD NOT cover my lighter roots, leaving them a blue tinge, and the rest of my hair was a blue-black in the light.  I also find L'Oreal Preference to be VERY messy.

I'm looking for a true blackest black.  I'm desperate!!!!  HELP!!

I've been doing this for years too.  My absolute favorite for true shiny dark black is Clairol Natural Instincts, the semi-permanent one, in Midnight Black.  It is completely neutral, no purple or blue undertone in the light.  Though it is not permanent, it stays better than any permanent dye I have used.  I have used this shade for years and years with great results and long lasting color. 

DO NOT try the new Natural Instincts Vibrant collection, I have heard terrible things about it.  Just the get the old school version. I have tried every one out there, and this is still my personal favorite.  Good luck!