Bleaching from Natural Black hair to Platinum Blonde!

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi guys, for the last month or so I've been planning on going pink! I figured I'd share some of my progress pictures. I'm doing everything myself and I'm a bit of an amateur but my hair is still very healthy. The picture on the left is my natural hair color, and I took the picture on the right a few weeks ago after two "sessions". I know it's SUPER neon yellow at the moment, but I'm going to bleach it more today, and I'm hoping I can get it to a pale yellow this week!

I used Quick Blue (I think it's L'Oreal) and Wella's 20 volume creme developer. I also wasted a full bottle of toner (though my hair does look a bit more normal now and not so neon!)

I only had a few problems I ran into. The first is that I have GREEN patches in my hair because I henna'd it last year, and I think the only solution is to cut those green patches off if they really bother me. (Since I'm going pink anyway, I'm not too horrified!) My second problem was that my scalp bled and burned a bit when I bleached it the second time. I went ahead and grabbed Ion's sensitive scalp 20 developer this time and I'm going to try and stay at least a 1/4" away from my scalp.

Any advice or discussion is seriously appreciated! I'm not sure if I can even get to platinum without using a 30/40 developer, but I want to avoid killing my hair! :]

Here it is after another bleaching session today! There's that green (from the henna) I wrote about in my original post!

Green is not from henna)))It's because after bleaching when you became yellow you used Quick Bluewhich gaves you green stripes on your hair.

Originally Posted by lipo4ka /img/forum/go_quote.gif