Do you let your kids wear/play with your makeup?

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I don't have kids of my own - I'm just a 20-something with an overactive biological clock (crying so hard) and I think about babies all the time. Last week, I was actually thinking about how I used to play with my mom's makeup when I was younger. I spent the first six or so years of my life growing up in China, and back then, cosmetics were even less regulated than now obviously, and despite being a doctor, I really don't think my mom thought that much about the chemicals in the products.

So apparently this site called Zulily (which is basically like Hautelook/ideeli/BTR for moms+kids) is having an event with Julep tomorrow, and they had a picture of a woman painting her nails with a little girl. Julep is a pretty expensive brand, and they don't have much polish in their bottles... on top of that, I don't know if the colours they do have would appeal to little girls as much as the demographic Julep is after. That got me thinking... especially since most of us at MuT collect makeup from rather exclusive, pricey brands, do you let your kids play with your makeup? Some of it, or all of it? What do you do if you don't then? Do you lock it up/hide it somewhere they can't reach?

I thought a little bit over the fact that getting your kids their own makeup might be a good alternative, from drugstores, for example, since they probably don't care nearly as much about the texture, finish, quality, etc. But that also leads to questions like, drugstore nail polish is less likely to be 3-free, and what if your kid accidentally licks off their lipstick or lipgloss? How do we know that's nearly as safe?