Microdermabrasion vs Exfoliation. Differences?

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I know Microdermabrasion uses smaller beads, but does this exfoliate the skin more or less than normal exfoliators? I ask because i'm interested in evening out my skin tone, and read in one of the threads that microdermabrasion helps. I do exfoliate regularly, but have never tried using a microdermbrasion kit.

Any differences between what the products do? Thanks!

I wanna know too! do u do both or one or the other? if u do both how often should each be done? Im new to all this stuff and Im taking notes ;) /emoticons/[email protected] 2x" width="20" height="20" />

Microdermabrasion uses Aluminium Oxide crystals, which are stronger than regular exfoliators. So, to answer your question, microderm is more effective. You should do microderm once a week, until finished. They do the same thing, except micro is at a more accelerated rate. I would suggest avoiding microderm if your acne-prone. Try a chemical peel instead. It will help to even out your skintone too. Otherwise though, it's micro is ok. :icon_chee

i'm curious too... i have acne prone uneven skin that is very sensitive and prone to flakiness when i use certain products (and oily all other times!) ... i was thinking of using stuff with AHA's in them.