Got a bad perm and my hair is thinning and breaking

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi!

Newbie here! And I need help, PLEASE! Around June 2006 I got a bad perm. I have had a lot of thinning and breakage on the top of my hair, on both sides of my part. The worst thinning and breakage is right in front, where you hairline meets your forehead. (I hope my explanation of where my thinning is makes since) I did my research and found a hairdresser that I could trust and help w/ my problem. I have been getting regular hair cuts and been using a deep conditioner by Paul Mitchell. Needless to say, my hair is getting better but......

Of course the perm was half way out (I have shoulder length hair) and it was hard to style. With the help of my hairdresser I made the decision to permanently straighten my hair so all of the perm would be gone. Since my hair is straight know the breakage and thinning is really visible, especially in the front by my forehead.

My questions:

Does any one have any great product recommendations that would make my hair thicker on top and in front and/or make those little hairs sticking up grow faster?

Do you have any product recommendations that would help w/ the breakage?

My hairdresser has a lot of Paul Mitchell products, but I was wondering if there were any other great products that would help.

Thank You so much for any advice you can give me!

Ronda

I vote Healthy Sexy Hair. It did wonders for my hair, and my hair is healthier now than it's been since I was a kid!

Protein packs! Go to a beauty supply store and ask for them.

I have the same exact problem since getting a relaxer.. and i'm looking for suggestions as well.

April and Aquilah,

Thank you for the suggestions. I will check them out.:g:

mrs.jones,

Thank You

Are there any protein packs you suggest? Are there different types/brands?:g: