Best place to buy makeup?

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi girls,

It is my first time buying make up. The only place I know where I can buy it is in Macy and pharmacies...I was wondering if there are any stores that specilize in make up and other beauty products at a reasonable price. By the way I live in new york city...so just name the store...I should be able to find it. Thanks

There are a few reasonably priced items in Sephora! hehe. I'm an enabler...

But seriously, Sephora is great! And I love that they have so many brands in one place!

Sephora and Ulta are fabulous. I actually prefer to go into Nordstroms and Saks cosmetic department because I love to loom over the expensive skin care lines in hopes that I will get a free sample of a $1,000 face cream. I really like to dabble in the Armani and Givenchy lines, too.

I agree with everyone sephora and ulta the way to go, or just your local department store and their makeup counters always works for me. :)

Originally Posted by xxfungirlxx /img/forum/go_quote.gif Hi girls,
It is my first time buying make up. The only place I know where I can buy it is in Macy and pharmacies...I was wondering if there are any stores that specilize in make up and other beauty products at a reasonable price. By the way I live in new york city...so just name the store...I should be able to find it. Thanks

Great question! In these hard financial times (for most folks) cutting corners is the only way to go!
Here are my tips:

I shop at department stores and wait to buy items from clinique/ lancome/dior when they are giving away great free gifts wi a purchase.

I shop at Sephora & Ulta and utilize in store sales and email/flyer coupons.

I shop at the drug stores when they have buy one/get one free specials (don't forget WalMart & Kmart b/c they generally have lower prices).