Interview with Macys

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have an interview next week for a job as a Cosmetics Counter Manager- what do you think they will be looking for- and how do I prepare? I have had 3 years of experience in sales, and 2 years in managing but never have worked with makeup professionally.

What should I wear?

Thanks!

i think you should wear a great big smile and be really loud over do your gestures and smell nice

I suggest wearing all black most counter Beauty Advisors wear all black & You dont really have to have experience in Makeup , Though it does help Ive worked at Lancome & Origins for Macys & the interviews are simple & Just have confidence & Dont be nervous Im sure your sales experience will Help you!!!
smile.gif

Working for a similar retail store and seeing the numbers of hopeful applicants walk past my office, I would recommend that you dress professionally, wear makeup (since you will be working cosmetics) and come prepared. For hair and makeup, unless you are working the MAC counter, I would keep the bright shadows and blue nail polish to a minimum. Don't over-do your perfume as you will most likely be in a small closed room for the interview and you don't want to overpower who will be interviewing you. Remember, you are going to a job interview. One of the questions you might be asked is , "How do you plan on growing your business?" You need to have specific answers to that, not just "Well, people will see me and stop to buy something." You want to have answers that speak to the business end, not just your makeup experience if you want a CM job. It's all about the bottom line - you will have to market yourself as well as the line you will be managing.