Hair Color; Semi, Demi, or Permanent...

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I've been using permanent dye for years, gave up boxed dye 3 years ago, and am now ready to give up permanent dye.

I understand the differences between the three, and I know that everyone's hair is different so we should strand test and experiment a little to find our own solutions.

But my curiosity is with Demi Permanent hair color. I've heard before that while it fades, it can leave a color change to your natural hair. That while you can expect it to fade out within 24 washings, it can leave a different hue to your hair.

I'm a natural light brown, I don't know my level of color yet because I'm still learning. I do know that I dye my hair to a level 6 or 7 cool dark brown. If I use demi permanent hair color on my roots, will it consistently fade back to light brown and show months of new growth since my last permanent dye job?

I'm just trying to wrap my brain around demi dye and how it fades and if it deposits any kind of permanent stain.

Hope someone can help me out. Thanks everyone.
11dh.gif

I found this info from: Temporary hair color, semi-permanent color, demi-permanent color and color rinses

Semi-Permanent and Demi-Permanent Color:

Semi-permanent and demi-permanent haircolors are similar in the way they work, but slightly different in their formulation.

Semi-permanent color is designed to deposit color onto the hair only and has no lightening effect. The formula includes an activator that develops the color and helps to raise the cuticle of the hair shaft so that the color can be deposited there.

Semi- permanent color doesn't penetrate into the cortex of the hair, but it will usually last from six to eight weeks, gradually washing out with each shampoo.

Demi-permanent color is also a deposit-only color with no lightening effect.