Jump to content

Nails

Sign in to follow this  

407 reviews in this category

  1. CND vinylux weekly polish

    Brand: CND Purchase Date: No value Product Image: Rating: 1 Star Cons: Do not last a day when doing house work also lighter colours leave streaks Price Value: 0.5 - Very Horrible Value Purchase Price: $87.95 Packaging Quality: 0.5 - Very Horrible Packaging Description:

    I recently purchased 8 colours of Cnd vinylux weekly polish

    #134 Pink Bikini

    #191 Lost Labyrinth

    #148 Silver Chrome

    #131 Midnight Swim

    #112 Electric Orange

    #174 Crimson Sash

    #160 Night Glimmer

    #151 Studio White

    I purchased via eBay from elitenailsupplies and I have been very disappointed they do not last one day if you are washing dishes or doing housework (I use dish washing stick plus live in a 1bedroom apartment do not have huge housework to do) so they shouldn't be chipping the day I apply. The White is so bad it leaves streaks no matter how many applications are applied and the nail polish starts to get glumpy. I am not sure wether I received fake or faulty items but from what I have bought they are very bad and I do not recommend purchase. I have wasted 87.95 on these and wouldn't want anyone to waste their money on bad products as I know how it feels and to get a refund is not easy process if bought via Internet.

    Hope this helps a little with your decision on purchasing theese products.

    Thank you

    • 0 comments
    • 533 views
  2. My Go-To Black!

    Brand: orly Purchase Date: 01/01/1970 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: Well pigmented, easy application, shiny, readily available Price Value: 0 Purchase Price: $ Packaging Quality: 0 Description:

    This is the black I grab for when doing a manicure. It covers completely in one thick coat or two thin ones. It is easy to remove. It is great as a base color for nail art as well as adding designs. I definitely recommend this one.

    • 0 comments
    • 307 views
  3. Fifty Shades of Grey

    Brand: OPI Purchase Date: 02/20/2015 Product Image: Rating: 4 Stars Pros: Variation, Good quality polish, pigmentation Cons: two of the colours are very similar Price Value: 5 - Excellent Value Purchase Price: $30.91 Packaging Quality: 5 - Excellent Packaging Description:

    I recently visited the cinema to watch the highly anticipated Fifty Shades Of Grey, Mr Grey wasn't my cup of tea, but, the FSOG inspired set from the gods over at OPI definitely is!

    I'm a huge fan of nail varnish, and have a reasonable collection, OPI has to be my current favourite, the polishes cover so well, have great pigmentation and the collection of colours is so immensely varied. You can appreciate my excitement when I found this little set of beauties!

    The themed box contains 6, 3.75ml varnishes

     

     

    smaller1

     

     

     

    OPI have created 6 gorgeous colours, and they have 6 equally great names -

     

    Embrace The Gray - 'Let this chic, moody gray crème become one with you,'

    ~

    Dark Side Of The Mood - 'This brooding, stormy charcoal is dangerously gorgeous.'

    ~

    Shine For Me - 'The shimmering silverwith subtle blue sparkle really turns me on!'

    ~

    My Silk Tie - 'This silky, gleaming silver has got me all tied up.'

    ~

    Romantically Involved - 'I'm in a deep relationship with this luscious crème red.'

    ~

    Cement The Deal - 'I'd sign anything to get my hands on this stony, cool gray.'

     

    As always with OPI products, in my opinion, they paint really well and give great coverage. They dry in a reasonable time and always last well on my nails, and I'm a busy mummy of two!

     

     

    smaller

     

     

    The only Issue I have with the set is that the two crème grey colours are sooooo close to being the same once dried, when I was taking the pictures I actually got myself confused......but to be honest, that really isn't that hard!

    Overall I highly recommend the set, its a great way to experiment with different colours at a very reasonable price. The set retails at around £19.95, for 6 OPI products I think that's great.

    If you like what you've read, check out my blog at

    www.allaboutjemma.blogspot.com for more product reviews and to see what I've been up to!

     

    Much Love

     

    Jemma

     

    xxx

    • 0 comments
    • 438 views
  4. Amazing Polish

    Brand: china_glaze Purchase Date: 01/01/1970 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: true to color, great formula Price Value: 5 - Excellent Value Purchase Price: 5.00 Packaging Quality: 5 - Excellent Packaging Description:

    This is my favorite nail polish! I've seriously gone through half of the bottle. I get so many compliments on this when I wear it. I love this because it's true to color (what you see in the bottle is what it will look like on your nails), the formula is super easy to work with and I get opaque coverage in 2 coats. I would recommend this polish to anyone who is looking for a good sparkly red! If you don't like shimmer/sparkle then this might not be for you, lol. But honestly, even if you don't like sparkle, I would try this anyways because it's just an amazing color!

     

    I can't think of any dupes for this. Some people say "Ring in The Red" by CG is a dupe but it's not. RITR is a lighter red and it's not at opaque as Ruby Pumps.

    • 1 comment
    • 24 views
  5. Trind Keratin Treatment is the best

    Brand: Trind Purchase Date: 11/02/2011 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: This set really strengthens nails and promotes growth. After 2 weeks you will see the change. Cons: No cons whatsoever. Price Value: 4.5 - Good Value Purchase Price: 0.00 Packaging Quality: 3.5 - Crap but ok! Description:

    AAfter years of putting gel on my nails on and off they became weak. I have used other nail treatments and they only work while you have the product on and feel very think and don't really work. After trying this treatment for a lil over 2 weeks, I would recommend to anyone. It is the best I have ever tried and it works. I can honestly say my nails feel stronger and are constantly growing strong. I stopped using it for about 5 days to see if my nails weakened and they didn't. I recommend everyone that wants healthy strong nails to use this and you won't regret it. Definately the best working nail treatment there is.

     

    To see pictures of my nails check out my blog at http://beautybygaby.blogspot.com/

     

     

    • 0 comments
    • 35 views
  6. Just Amazing

    Brand: Cheeky Purchase Date: 01/01/1970 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: There just perfect Price Value: 5 - Excellent Value Purchase Price: $ Packaging Quality: 0 Description:

    These rhinestones are so cute and perfect.The way they sparkle.I love that they DONT fall off as easily . heart.gif

    • 0 comments
    • 18 views
  7. Good, But Not Great

    Brand: Trind Purchase Date: 04/14/2011 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: Stronger, shinier, less peeling nails Cons: Drier cuticles, didn't speed growing much, contains formaldehyde Price Value: 0 Purchase Price: $ Packaging Quality: 5 - Excellent Packaging Description:

    General Pros:

    • Easy-to-open bottles
    • Long-bristled brush
    • Nice scent (not too chemical-ish)

     

    General Cons:

    • Contains Formaldehyde
    • Time consuming--difficult to remember to do nails again every day

     

    After 14 Days Of Use

    Pros:

    • Nails were stronger
    • No peeling of the nails at all
    • Less ridges
    • Nails were shiner and looked healthier

     

    Cons:

    • Cuticles seemed drier (with the two-bottle program)
    • Nail growth seemed the same, not any faster

     

    For the most part, I was happy with the ways my nails looked after the 14 days of usage. It is difficult, however, to remember to do the treatment EVERY day for 14 days. My nails did show considerable improvement in regards to peeling. They also seemed stronger and less flexible. My cuticles, however, seemed drier after using the Nail Repair coat.  

     

    Was I happy with how it made my nails look without polish? Yes. Would I invest in the treatment if I had to buy it myself? Most likely not.  It doesn't seem to be "cutting edge" in regards to comparative products on the market.  I will, however, continue to use it a while longer to see if I notice any changes beyond the 14 days.

     

    nails.jpg

     

    =========

    nails1.jpg

     

    ============

     

    nails2.jpg

    • 0 comments
    • 8 views
  8. Good, But Not Great

    Brand: Trind Purchase Date: 04/14/2011 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: Stronger, shinier, less peeling nails Cons: Drier cuticles, didn't speed growing much, contains formaldehyde Price Value: 0 Purchase Price: $ Packaging Quality: 5 - Excellent Packaging Description:

    General Pros:

    • Easy-to-open bottles
    • Long-bristled brush
    • Nice scent (not too chemical-ish)

     

    General Cons:

    • Contains Formaldehyde
    • Time consuming--difficult to remember to do nails again every day

     

    After 14 Days Of Use

    Pros:

    • Nails were stronger
    • No peeling of the nails at all
    • Less ridges
    • Nails were shiner and looked healthier

     

    Cons:

    • Cuticles seemed drier (with the two-bottle program)
    • Nail growth seemed the same, not any faster

     

    For the most part, I was happy with the ways my nails looked after the 14 days of usage. It is difficult, however, to remember to do the treatment EVERY day for 14 days. My nails did show considerable improvement in regards to peeling. They also seemed stronger and less flexible. My cuticles, however, seemed drier after using the Nail Repair coat.  

     

    Was I happy with how it made my nails look without polish? Yes. Would I invest in the treatment if I had to buy it myself? Most likely not.  It doesn't seem to be "cutting edge" in regards to comparative products on the market.  I will, however, continue to use it a while longer to see if I notice any changes beyond the 14 days.

     

    nails.jpg

     

    =========

    nails1.jpg

     

    ============

     

    nails2.jpg

    • 0 comments
    • 8 views
  9. Trind nail products

    Brand: Trind Purchase Date: 01/01/1970 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: stronger nails Cons: first try I broke two nails, I guess didn't use enough Price Value: 5 - Excellent Value Purchase Price: $ Packaging Quality: 5 - Excellent Packaging Description:

    my product to review.jpg

    • 2 comments
    • 33 views
  10. I love this polish!

    Brand: china_glaze Purchase Date: 01/01/1970 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: sparkle,color, dry time Price Value: 0 Purchase Price: $ Packaging Quality: 0 Description:

    I love this color1 I only have it in a mini though and I would love to find a full sized one but It hasn't crossed my path yet. It makes me think of wizard of OZ and I love owning anything that shares my name!

    • 1 comment
    • 388 views
  11. NYC

    Brand: N.Y.C. Purchase Date: No value Product Image: Rating: 5 Stars Pros: SO cheapp Cons: a few coats Price Value: 5 - Excellent Value Purchase Price: $2 Packaging Quality: 5 - Excellent Packaging Description:

    OKAY so this nail polish is amazing! Has anyone ever tried it? I seriously would promote this nail polish forever! First let's talk about price, it is like 2 dollars at walmart and sometimes they have a deal where it is even cheaper! It dries sooo fast so it is the best when you are a hurry, and it honestly last just as long as my OPI nail polish. NEGATIVE, sometime takes a few extra coats then your basic OPI nail polish but honestly, if it is cheaper and way more accessible do the extra coat girls! SOO everyone check this nail polish. I honestly, should do a youtube video about my favourite nail polishes!

    • 3 comments
    • 650 views
  12. Amazing scrub!

    Brand: Barielle Purchase Date: 01/01/1970 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: Smells great, leaves skin smooth and soft, lasts awhile Price Value: 0 Purchase Price: $ Packaging Quality: 0 Description:

    This hand and foot scrub is seriously awesome! It's really easy to use and feels so good when you massage it into your skin. It smells incredible and makes my skin feel so soft. It uses a lot of moisturizing oils, like soybean, avocado, apricot and almond to get rid of dead skin and leaving hands and feet mani and pedi ready! If you're from Canada and haven't been able to find this in stores, try ordering it from www.ebeauty.ca. It's a Canadian beauty site that sells a ton of hard to find makeup and other products like this one. It even ships for free right now which is easier than trying to hunt it down at the drugstore!

    • 0 comments
    • 19 views
  13. Day 6 in the Trind Moist & Shiny 14- Day Challenge

    Brand: Trind Purchase Date: 04/15/2011 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: Shiny, Strong Nails. Reducing peeling affects. Cons: Dried out cuticles. Formaldehyde. Price Value: 0 Purchase Price: 0.00 Packaging Quality: 0 Description:

    This is an opinion placed after using the product in this kit for 6 days:

     

    There is no doubting that the nail repair product creates a strong surface to product the nails from breakage and peeling. Since the nail is stronger it is had the ability to grow out ever so slightly. Particularly on my right hand I can see the effects of peeling disappearing (middle and pointer finger).

    But I have notice some side effects of this product. The nail repair contains formaldehyde. This can be a toxic chemical if inhale. Now by applying the nail product you are not going to inhale it and I am sure this product has a very expectable and harmless level of formaldehyde. But with that being said I think I would rather it not contain this chemical.  Most nail products are moving away from using this big "F".

    Finally the most disappointing side effect from the product is it is drying out my cuticles! I haven't seen my cuticles look this poor since I bleached down workspaces in the dead of winter. I apply cuticle oil and lotion, as well as occasionally use a cuticle remover. But this has been a real downside! My cuticles actually hurt from the cracking and peeling!  The product says that you should protect with "cream". What cream? None was included in my trial kit and I don't own any cuticle cream on hand.  I don't know if it is the formaldehyde causing the drying effect or another chemical.

    So right now my opinion is focused on the negative due to the cuticle situation. What use is having longer, stronger nails if you cuticles look like a Brillo scrub pad?

     

    Screen shot 2011-04-17 at 10.40.07 PM.png

     

    Screen shot 2011-04-20 at 11.43.27 AM.png

    • 1 comment
    • 33 views
  14. Day 6 in the Trind Moist & Shiny 14- Day Challenge

    Brand: Trind Purchase Date: 04/15/2011 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: Shiny, Strong Nails. Reducing peeling affects. Cons: Dried out cuticles. Formaldehyde. Price Value: 0 Purchase Price: 0.00 Packaging Quality: 0 Description:

    This is an opinion placed after using the product in this kit for 6 days:

     

    There is no doubting that the nail repair product creates a strong surface to product the nails from breakage and peeling. Since the nail is stronger it is had the ability to grow out ever so slightly. Particularly on my right hand I can see the effects of peeling disappearing (middle and pointer finger).

    But I have notice some side effects of this product. The nail repair contains formaldehyde. This can be a toxic chemical if inhale. Now by applying the nail product you are not going to inhale it and I am sure this product has a very expectable and harmless level of formaldehyde. But with that being said I think I would rather it not contain this chemical.  Most nail products are moving away from using this big "F".

    Finally the most disappointing side effect from the product is it is drying out my cuticles! I haven't seen my cuticles look this poor since I bleached down workspaces in the dead of winter. I apply cuticle oil and lotion, as well as occasionally use a cuticle remover. But this has been a real downside! My cuticles actually hurt from the cracking and peeling!  The product says that you should protect with "cream". What cream? None was included in my trial kit and I don't own any cuticle cream on hand.  I don't know if it is the formaldehyde causing the drying effect or another chemical.

    So right now my opinion is focused on the negative due to the cuticle situation. What use is having longer, stronger nails if you cuticles look like a Brillo scrub pad?

     

    Screen shot 2011-04-17 at 10.40.07 PM.png

     

    Screen shot 2011-04-20 at 11.43.27 AM.png

    • 1 comment
    • 30 views
  15. Easy routine for stronger nails

    Brand: Trind Purchase Date: 04/04/2011 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: Shiny, strong nails Cons: Adding a new routine to my schedule Price Value: 3.5 - Acceptable Value Purchase Price: $ Packaging Quality: 3.5 - Crap but ok! Description:

    I definitely noticed a change in my nail appearance just 2 days into using it.  It seemed a bit intimidating to stick to the routine, but it was actually much more quick than I had initially thought (after getting through the first step).  I received a few complements from co-workers, so that was a nice benefit on top of my shinier and stronger nails.

     

    I'm glad I did stick with it bc I've managed to save myself a trip to the salon - and I've figured out an easy and effective way to keep my nails classy on a regular basis!

    • 1 comment
    • 22 views
  16. So-so

    Brand: Trind Purchase Date: 01/01/1970 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: Shiny, kept nails moisturized, stronger nails, good buffer Cons: dried cuticles Price Value: 2 - Needs Help Value Purchase Price: $ Packaging Quality: 3.5 - Crap but ok! Description:

    I received this item for free as part of a review.

     

    The 14 Day Challenge:
    When sent the product, I was asked to use this system everyday for 14 days.  On day 1, I buffed my nails (the only time I was asked to do it).  Then I applied the Nail Balsam, let it soak in for 2 minutes and massaged the rest into my cuticles.  Over that, I applied the Nail Repair.  Each day, I used non-acetone nail polish to remove the product and do it again everyday thereafter.  I was asked to remove it everyday and start fresh.

     

    **I used an additional cuticle oil in conjunction with this system. 

     

    The Buffer:
    The buffer works very well.  :)  It helped to smooth my nails out nicely and get them ready for the application.  However, I feel like the exact same thing could be purchased at WalMart or Sally's and you'd be able to accomplish the same thing, but with a cheaper product. 

     

    Nail Balsam:

    I actually REALLY like this product.  It smells pretty much like hand lotion in a nail polish bottle.  I can't really speak to how well it nourished my cuticles because I do believe the constant use of nail polish dried them out immensely.  However, I will be continuing to use the Nail Balsam when I do my nails and see if I notice a difference.  My cuticles are ALWAYS dry, but during these last two weeks, they've been so dry they were bleeding.  Again, I can't say it was the actual products fault for sure.  But for now, I will lay the blame on the nail polish remover. 

     

    The balsam did help to nourish my actual nails though.  When they have no polish, they seem to be much more shiny and healthy than they used to be.  :)

     

    Nail Repair:
    The Nail Repair is basically a very quick drying (maybe 30 seconds?) top coat.  I do believe the purpose of this product is to seal in the Nail Balsam and protect the nail from tears and breaks.  I feel it did help to strengthen my nails, even though I did have 2 breaks.  My nails feel a lot sturdier.

     

    Overall:
    I will continue using this system, but I'll just do it once a week when I regularly paint my nails.  I really do feel like the constant use of nail polish remover ruined my cuticles.  Since I feel like my nails are stronger, I hope I'll be able to grow them out nicely! 

     

     

    For the sake of less pictures, I'll just show this hand!  My typical swatching hand.  :)

     

    Day 1 - Before (8).JPG

    Day 1 - After buffing (2).JPG

    Day 1 - After polish (2).JPG

    Day 7 (2).JPG

    DSCN6700-2.JPG

    • 0 comments
    • 25 views
  17. So-so

    Brand: Trind Purchase Date: 01/01/1970 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: Shiny, kept nails moisturized, stronger nails, good buffer Cons: dried cuticles Price Value: 2 - Needs Help Value Purchase Price: $ Packaging Quality: 3.5 - Crap but ok! Description:

    I received this item for free as part of a review.

     

    The 14 Day Challenge:
    When sent the product, I was asked to use this system everyday for 14 days.  On day 1, I buffed my nails (the only time I was asked to do it).  Then I applied the Nail Balsam, let it soak in for 2 minutes and massaged the rest into my cuticles.  Over that, I applied the Nail Repair.  Each day, I used non-acetone nail polish to remove the product and do it again everyday thereafter.  I was asked to remove it everyday and start fresh.

     

    **I used an additional cuticle oil in conjunction with this system. 

     

    The Buffer:
    The buffer works very well.  :)  It helped to smooth my nails out nicely and get them ready for the application.  However, I feel like the exact same thing could be purchased at WalMart or Sally's and you'd be able to accomplish the same thing, but with a cheaper product. 

     

    Nail Balsam:

    I actually REALLY like this product.  It smells pretty much like hand lotion in a nail polish bottle.  I can't really speak to how well it nourished my cuticles because I do believe the constant use of nail polish dried them out immensely.  However, I will be continuing to use the Nail Balsam when I do my nails and see if I notice a difference.  My cuticles are ALWAYS dry, but during these last two weeks, they've been so dry they were bleeding.  Again, I can't say it was the actual products fault for sure.  But for now, I will lay the blame on the nail polish remover. 

     

    The balsam did help to nourish my actual nails though.  When they have no polish, they seem to be much more shiny and healthy than they used to be.  :)

     

    Nail Repair:
    The Nail Repair is basically a very quick drying (maybe 30 seconds?) top coat.  I do believe the purpose of this product is to seal in the Nail Balsam and protect the nail from tears and breaks.  I feel it did help to strengthen my nails, even though I did have 2 breaks.  My nails feel a lot sturdier.

     

    Overall:
    I will continue using this system, but I'll just do it once a week when I regularly paint my nails.  I really do feel like the constant use of nail polish remover ruined my cuticles.  Since I feel like my nails are stronger, I hope I'll be able to grow them out nicely! 

     

     

    For the sake of less pictures, I'll just show this hand!  My typical swatching hand.  :)

     

    Day 1 - Before (8).JPG

    Day 1 - After buffing (2).JPG

    Day 1 - After polish (2).JPG

    Day 7 (2).JPG

    DSCN6700-2.JPG

    • 0 comments
    • 27 views
  18. Almost as good as it promises

    Brand: Trind Purchase Date: 01/01/1970 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: Shiny nails. Dries fast. Cons: Scent. Price. Brush width. Price Value: 4 - Just OK Value Purchase Price: 45.95 Packaging Quality: 5 - Excellent Packaging Description:

    Disclaimer: I received this item for free to do a review.


    Price: $45.96 Canadian

    Size: 0.30 fl. oz / 9 mL each

     

    When I received this I was also sent a bottle of nail polish remover which I loved. My middle daughter did to and ended up swiping it from me but since it's not part of the actual product we were sent to review it's a moot point.

     

    My nails started off with ridges, were flexible (weak) and tended to break easily. How flexible were my nails? Let's just put it this way - paper thin type of flexible. Within a few days of using the product I did notice a slight different in my nails. The ridges weren't completely gone but they were less noticeable. It looked as if the product filled in the ridges to make my nails look smooth as if I had buffed each ridge out.

     

    By the end of the first week I did find that some of my nails felt stronger and looked healthier, some I saw no real changes, nothing dramatic and those nails still felt weaker compared to the rest. My thumb and pinky nails were the strongest while my index and ring finger nails felt weak still and this was one both hands. My middle fingers I saw some improvements on but not as strong as my thumb and pinky nails but not as weak as the other two.

     

    By the middle of the second week my strong nails broke. The thumb nail on my left hand snagged on something right at the edge and peeled right on off at the edge of the bed forcing me to cut it straight and filing it down. Was it due to the product? I don't know. A day later the nail on my right pinky broke when I was opening the car door. I ended up clipping my nails and file that nail as well. By the end of the second weak I still saw no dramatic change in my other nails while my thumb and pinky nails continued to become stronger and looked healthier.

     

    It just occurred to me as I'm typing this that I don't use my thumb or pinky fingers as much as I do my ring, middle or index fingers. I type - a great deal - and so the fingers I use primarily are the center three rather than the outer two. I wonder if this is why I've had problems keeping those nails growing and remaining strong without breaking while typing.

     

    Did I see improvement in all my nails? Yes.

    Was it a dramatic change? No.

    Was I happy with the results? Yes.

    Would I buy this? Maybe.

     

    The downside to this product is the price. At $45.95 (Canadian) it's a very expensive treatment. I know there is a product at Sally's Beauty supply called American Classics which is simply a keratin base and it's not a complete treatment set.



    As for the product itself. The packaging is exactly as pictures and the instructions are easy to read and follow. I love the glass bottle shape, as a nail polish collector it called to me. I love pretty bottle shapes. The Kertain Nail Restorer (step 1, the peachy color liquid) smells nice unlike some other nail treatments I've tried (and come to think of it with other treatments I've had the same problem with my nails - the three middle ones remain weaker than my outer nails). The odor to it is reminiscent of some nail polishes I've had but sweeter smelling. I did read the packaging and it does contain an added fragrance. Other treatments that I've tried in the past were overbearing in the odor while the Kertain Nail Restorer didn't.

     

    Now I admit I didn't follow the directions. I ended up, after removing any residue on my nails with nail polish remover, I partially buffed my nails just as if I were going to apply a base coat for nail polish. I didn't buff it enough to completely remove the ridges on my nails since I wanted to give this product a fair shake. I also applied this product more like a nail polish and didn't rub it into my nails as instructed.

     

    Applying the product was straight forward, brush it on like a polish and allow to dry. Now I do have to say it felt odd the first time I used it. I don't know how to describe it other than my nails felt odd and I think it was because the nail itself actually absorbed the product. As soon as the product dried the feeling went away. The only thing I can think how it felt like was if you ever had painted you nails and the polish peeled off leaving your nails feeling a bit... tingly? That's not the right word I'm looking for but it's an odd feeling. I LOVED how shiny my nails looked after applying the Keratin.

     

    Drying time the restorer dried pretty fast but I used it in thin coats and applied three coats per nail before using the step 2 product - the Keratin Nail Protector. How I applied it was I would put a drop in the center of my nail and brush it down the center then one swipe on each side of the center. I would work nail to nail and once finished with my 10th nail wait a couple more minutes then go back to the first and start over. I did it for a total of three times. I know the instructions said to rub it in gently but I used it as I would a nail polish instead which means I didn't rub it in.

     

    As for the step 2 product - the Keratin Nail Protector. That smelled the most like nail polish (really bad, stinky nail polish) and it was a bit strong and off putting. I applied this after allowing the Restorer to dry and only applied one coat simply because I couldn't stand the smell. Once it dried I did notice my nails looked as if I had shine buffed each one with a six way buffer and the smell did dissipate once dried. If you have a sensitive nose you may not be able to use the Protector.

     

    As for drying time. The product dried pretty fast. I take that back, most like absorbed into the nail more quickly then dried. It dried faster than most of my nail polishes.

     

    The brush I didn't care for. I wish it had a wider brush than the thin one that it comes with. I'm used to wider brushes and felt that applying it would have been faster with a wider brush - fewer strokes - but again I didn't apply this as directed (rub the Restorer in) but even the Protector brush is too narrow. A nice wide brush to cover in the nail in one or two strokes is far better in my opinion.

     

    Would I recommend this? If you have weak, flexible or brittle nails I would say give this a try. It is pricey at almost $46 but salon treatments are just as expensive. Now that my own treatment is over with I might have to track this down and possibly import it from Canada and give it to my eldest daughter to use since she's like me have naturally weak nails.

    • 0 comments
    • 39 views
  19. A great staple to a collection

    Brand: orly Purchase Date: 09/01/2013 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: Shiny Cons: Takes 2 coats Price Value: 4 - Just OK Value Purchase Price: 4.99 Packaging Quality: 5 - Excellent Packaging Description:

    I love Orly, its one of my favorite brands but there is 2 other blacks I prefer to this.

    One is the black from the moon candy from Revlon as it only takes one coat. The con to it is its not shiny to then I am stuck adding a top coat so I am back to 2 coats again!

    The other is the black milani that I used in high school. It was a one coat shiny black but I cant find it anymore.

    So if I am doing nail art I go with the Revlon so its less steps but if I am going for plain black nails I go to Liquid Vinyl.

    • 0 comments
    • 296 views
  20. Trind Moist & Shiny Kit review

    Brand: Trind Purchase Date: 04/18/2011 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: Shines nails, helps to strengthen and harden nails Cons: Requires continued use of polish remover Price Value: 2.5 - Not bad, not good value Purchase Price: 0.00 Packaging Quality: 4 - Just OK Packaging Description:

    I just finished my 14-day trial of Trind's Mosit & Shiny nail repair kit. Overall I think the product is okay- I love the added shinyness and overall healthy look of my nails. However, I did experience peeling and dryness (most likely caused by the daily application of polish remover, not by Trind products)

     

    I followed the directions each day for 14 days. My nails were not too bad to begin with- I had slight peeling on my nail tips, which often caused nail snags, tears and breaks.

     

    Day 1: I buffed & polished my nails and applied Nail Balsam and Nail Repair as directed. Used as directted for following days.

     

    Day 7: I forgot to take a pic and post my status here (oops!), but I was pleased with how my nails looked- shiny and healthy. I had no peeling, no breaks and just slight dryness (like I stated above, most likely caused by the polish remover)

     

    Day 14: By Day 11 or 12, I started to notice more peeling and dryness around my nails. By Day 14 I had hangnails and very dry cuticles. I did however, smush my nail into the bed hard and thought it would break, but it didn't- points for nail strength! While I was happy with results at Day 7, by Day 14 my nails looked like they did before I started using the product. The shinyness wasn't apparent much anymore so after the trial I used the buffer and polisher again to shine them up.

    *Will update with photos when photo uploader decides to work correctly*

     

     

     

    • 0 comments
    • 41 views
  21. Trind Moist & Shiny Kit review

    Brand: Trind Purchase Date: 04/18/2011 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: Shines nails, helps to strengthen and harden nails Cons: Requires continued use of polish remover Price Value: 2.5 - Not bad, not good value Purchase Price: 0.00 Packaging Quality: 4 - Just OK Packaging Description:

    I just finished my 14-day trial of Trind's Mosit & Shiny nail repair kit. Overall I think the product is okay- I love the added shinyness and overall healthy look of my nails. However, I did experience peeling and dryness (most likely caused by the daily application of polish remover, not by Trind products)

     

    I followed the directions each day for 14 days. My nails were not too bad to begin with- I had slight peeling on my nail tips, which often caused nail snags, tears and breaks.

     

    Day 1: I buffed & polished my nails and applied Nail Balsam and Nail Repair as directed. Used as directted for following days.

     

    Day 7: I forgot to take a pic and post my status here (oops!), but I was pleased with how my nails looked- shiny and healthy. I had no peeling, no breaks and just slight dryness (like I stated above, most likely caused by the polish remover)

     

    Day 14: By Day 11 or 12, I started to notice more peeling and dryness around my nails. By Day 14 I had hangnails and very dry cuticles. I did however, smush my nail into the bed hard and thought it would break, but it didn't- points for nail strength! While I was happy with results at Day 7, by Day 14 my nails looked like they did before I started using the product. The shinyness wasn't apparent much anymore so after the trial I used the buffer and polisher again to shine them up.

    *Will update with photos when photo uploader decides to work correctly*

     

     

     

    • 0 comments
    • 42 views
  22. Trind Perfect Cuticle & Nail Kit Trial

    Brand: Trind Purchase Date: 04/15/2011 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: Quick and Easy to apply, very shiny, hardens nails, quick dry Price Value: 0 Purchase Price: $ Packaging Quality: 0 Description:

    I just got my fake nails taken off to participate in this trial.  After having fakes on for over 3 yrs it's a definite change. I started out buffing and polishing my nails with the enclosed file and that made my nails squeak! LOL Nice and clean, right?  Next the cuticle balsam is applied and you let it sit for 2-3mins and rub in any excess after that time period. I didn't have any extra.  My cuticles are super dry and sucked up the stuff! Next goes on the Nail Balsam and you let that sit for the same amount of time and rub in any excess.  I had a bit of excess to where I had to wipe some off.  Maybe I used too much, not sure.  Will try less tomorrow. Finally, the Nail Repair goes on, and that's the nail hardener.  It did make my paper thin nails a bit stiffer.  Wish we were adding to the layers and not  taking the layers off inbetween to build up the strength. But we shall see how well the Repair works on its own, daily. Every step dried so fast. No over powering smells either. Hubby didn't complain at all and usually he's the first one to complain!.  Hopefully this helps and I'll be back in 7 days to give you an update on how well this product worked.  So far, I have high hopes for it.

    • 1 comment
    • 36 views
  23. Gorgeous Color!

    Brand: zoya Purchase Date: 06/04/2012 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: pretty, great application Price Value: 3 - Just Average Value Purchase Price: $ Packaging Quality: 4 - Just OK Packaging Description:

    I got this color in my May glossybox and I LOVE IT! It's such a beautiful color! =) I put that I paid $0 since it was part of my beauty subscription....I don't agree with Zoya's pricing but I love this color and this collection.

    • 1 comment
    • 47 views
  24. My nail art helper

    Brand: USpicy Purchase Date: 02/29/2012 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: pretty package Cons: a littel hard to take the bulbs off Price Value: 4.5 - Good Value Purchase Price: 39.99 Packaging Quality: 4.5 - Very Good Packing Description:

    Recently I crush on Gelish, the colors are so sweet just like jelly and candy! I’ve done my nails only once in the salon, too expensive to change the style weekly. So I’ve bought some Gelish myself, but still need a nail dryer. So I spent some time on eBay and Amazon, and last night I finally received my nail-pretty-helper: USpicy USND-3601 36W Professional Nail Dryer . I want to share my research with u, hope it can do a little help to u too

     

    I’ll list the UV nail dryers by brands

     

    First of all, CND Programmable UV Lamp. Everyone knows CND cuz of the Nail polish. The brand effect brings a lot of fans to CND UV lamp, but also makes it very expensive ($135.95 on Amazon), and there’s only one typ.

     

    Secondly, Thermal Spa UV Light. It’s not that expensive ($64.23 on eBay). One of my friends has got this one, she said it’s nice but a little too big. She can put two hands in it but there’s no need. Cuz after one hand is done, she dry it immediately and won’t wait for another hand. U know the Gelish will be destroyed by every little rub.

     

    The last one, also my choice, USpicy Professional Nail Dryer. Both the price and the size are pretty good. ($39.99 on amazon) The package is also nice. I love the pinky logo

    • 0 comments
    • 27 views
  25. Shower of glitters !

    Brand: china_glaze Purchase Date: 01/01/1970 Product Image: Rating: 0 Pros: pretty Cons: needs top coat Price Value: 4 - Just OK Value Purchase Price: $ Packaging Quality: 5 - Excellent Packaging Description:

    China Glaze's glitters are really worth the check. I absolutely love this nail polish. It's packed with very shiny glitters (not for the faitn hearted...). Applied alone you will need two to three coats, but i've noticed it also shows up nicely over a dark blue polish (i used First Mate, also from CG). Although it doesn't feel too grainy under the finger, you will need a top coat over this one.

    A double coat of base is also recommended and it's also a great way to test your polish remover, you may have to rub it off your nail.

    • 0 comments
    • 44 views
Sign in to follow this  

About MakeupTalk®

© 2003-2018 MakeupTalk.com®, an active online community and message board geared towards members wanting to discuss everything to do with makeup, cosmetics, product reviews, monthly subscription boxes and general beauty related topics. Our community provides product reviews, makeup and general beauty tips. Our most popular topics are subscription boxes and their monthly spoilers. Join our community for free to take part in the conversations and share your own beauty tips and product reviews with others. We look forward to seeing you online here at Makeuptalk®!

MakeupTalk® Facebook

×