Becoming a Makup Artist

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am soon to be enrolling in a certificate program to become a makeup artist. I have no plans to be a high fashion makeup artist or TV/Movie...my ambitions are simple...I live in a small town in Canada and I would like to do bridal/prom/makeovers etc. Now I have loved makeup all my preteen/adulthood life and I am picky when it comes to makeup BUT I'm cheap too! I have no idea what the best makeup brands are for makeup artists and tools etc...also what should I hve in my makeup bag? any help/ advice would be great! thanks!!

Hello!  Congrats on working to become a makeup artist! 

I'm not a makeup artist myself, but I do have quite an obsession!  If you're looking for great makeup brands that are also inexpensive, I highly recommend NYX.  Their eye shadows are super pigmented.  Also, I'm a big fan of their lipsticks.  I've tried a pair of their false eye lashes as well, and they've been worth the price for sure!

Also, you might want to check out Milani products.  I've never tried their products yet, but I've heard that quite a few of their eye shadows are comparable to MAC eye shadows.

:) /emoticons/[email protected] 2x" width="20" height="20" />  Hope this helps!

Originally Posted by scrapali /img/forum/go_quote.gif

Hey everyone,

I am soon to be enrolling in a certificate program to become a makeup artist. I have no plans to be a high fashion makeup artist or TV/Movie...my ambitions are simple...I live in a small town in Canada and I would like to do bridal/prom/makeovers etc. Now I have loved makeup all my preteen/adulthood life and I am picky when it comes to makeup BUT I'm cheap too! I have no idea what the best makeup brands are for makeup artists and tools etc...also what should I hve in my makeup bag? any help/ advice would be great! thanks!!