New Makeup artist student, needing advice---pros and professional amateurs alike please weigh-in! Thanks :)

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello!

I just started MUA school.  I was wondering if you guys could weigh in and give me some tips on what items are holy grail for a new makeup artist and as a student.  I know I heard my instructor say on the first day that we should invest in a skincare dictionary, but are there makeup products encyclopedias/dictionaries as well?  Also what items should I invest in as a beginner---like what are the best products to use on clients---lotions, cleansers--you know the things I should keep in my makeup artist bag?  I do plan on going further in my education in skincare and makeup, but it'd be nice to know what to do for right now while I'm still a novice. I want to work particularly with those who have major skin flaws to hide---so best concealer kit???  It's so many things out there.  It's easy to get overwhelmed.  So tell me what to put in my MUA student survial kit. By the way, my school is MAC approved.  Thanks in advance! Muahs*****

This is a pretty loaded question, and it would take someone some time to generate a complete list. You could help us out by first telling us what you know and what you already have. I mean, I'm an amateur at best, but I know what I love and what works on me. I would hands down get some eyeshadow palettes from bhcosmetics and/or coastalscents.com. I'd start with a neutral palette from cs or bh. I also love NYX's nude on nude palette as an alternative to Urban Decay's Naked Palette.

I can recommend a couple of books, if you'd like.

The Complete Beauty Bible by Paula Begoun

Beauty: The New Basics by Rona Berg

Making Faces by Kevyn Aucoin