Sign in to follow this  
Airi Magdalene

I'll be the first to post!

Since nobody else has set up camp here, I'm a makeup and effects artist. Special effects are the main reason I got into the industry! I'll share some photos of my work here and maybe some more people will want to talk about/learn about special effects. I'd be happy to answer questions and stuff! 

FXSlitThroat.jpg

Slit throat with some deadface. I'm really proud of the facial veins in this one.
FX_MangledHand.jpg

Mangled hand, made to look as though it's still bleeding.
FXWound.jpg

Zombie wound.

• Like 2

seriously, that is AWESOME!! what other types of special effects do you do?  Thanks for posting those pics!! I especially like how your hands look like they have bumps/blisters/warts on them! Super detailed! Do you have a blog or something of your work?

I'm just now starting to use Facebook to network my work. I always thought it was an overrated tool, but now I'm starting to get into it. Feel free to look at my Facebook page! 
I do all kinds of effects. Some were a little TOO graphic to post here. I have a set of photos where a model is being decapitated. I'm trying to expand my effects portfolio. :)

• Like 1

I like the blisters on the fingers. Well done! (The over-all work is well done too).

What did you take your training? and what shows have you been on?

I didn't take any formal training. I read a lot of books and watched a lot of documentaries about special effects and spent the past four years learning through trial and error. I've never been on any shows. I mostly work on photoshoots and stuff. One short film.

• Like 1

Originally Posted by Airi Magdalene View Post

I didn't take any formal training. I read a lot of books and watched a lot of documentaries about special effects and spent the past four years learning through trial and error. I've never been on any shows. I mostly work on photoshoots and stuff. One short film.

Your stuff looks good for being self-taught.