What Should I Include In My Makeup Kit?

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am just starting out as a freelance makeup artist I would like to know what things I need to include in my kit. 

q-tips, lashes (and glue), disposable mascara wands, brush cleaner, makeup disinfectant, tissues, makeup wipes, paper towels, nail polish remover, cotton balls, makeup remover, pencil sharpener...that's just off the top of my head, i'm probably missing a bunch...oh and the makeup too.

The #1 thing you want to keep in mind in a makeup kit is sanitation. You want to make sure your makeup, brushes, and station stays clean so that you don't spread things you might pick up from the girls you're applying it on.  The makeup itself, comes next.  It doesn't matter how good your makeup is or how good your ability is... If you pass along an infection or get someone sick, you'll be out of business quicker than you know it.  (A bride who gets pink eye and a cold sore just in time for the honeymoon will never forget you and will pass along that bad experience for the rest of her life!)

Ok thanks any tips on what types of foundations and concealers to include? How many of concealers and foundations should I have?

You could invest in foundation, concealer and corrector palettes.. That way you have a good range of shades available on hand. Don't know what your preferences are for liquid, cream, or powder..but that would be a good start.You'll probably need a large assortment of brushes and yes, sanitation is a big Yes..