Brushes and consistancy

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm new to this forum, but couldn't find any posts on this topic already.

I'm an armature nail artist, mostly just doing my own, and occasionally a friend's nails, for funsies. I'm wondering if anyone here has used any nail polish thinners - is the polish still good for just painting a base color? Does it change any other qualities? What kind do you like?

And I'm on the hunt for a good striping brush. I've got a few brushes from Ocean State Job Lot (similar to a Big Lots, if you k ow that one, basically big discount stores), that are working ok, but just are not quite as thin as I want. I'm also not sure if there are certain brushes that hold up to polish and polish remover better than these.

Thanks for any feedback!

Have you check out Julep for tools? They have some tools available and their polishes are top notch. I'm no longer a subscriber but have considered resubbing because they polishes last so long and are very easy to apply. I've used polishes from high-end brands to low end and Julep is one of my favorites if I need the color to last.

For plain painting, I don't have much trouble with what I have (mostly from CVS/Walgreens). I am finding I wish they were a little thinner, for painting detailed designs. That's the tricky part. Do you do that sort of thing with the Julep polishes? Are they easy to work with for fine detailing?