Japanese hair straightening

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
In may, I am planning on getting Japanese hair straightening. Two of my cousins actually have it already. Recently they have been noticing that their hair has been falling off a little more than usual. Does anyone else have this problem who has Japanese hair straightening?

I have it done and I do it for a living. It has been the greatest thing I have ever done for my hair. It is a chemical process and done incorrectly it can cause damage, so can bleach and color. With that being said, I do notice that I lose alot of hair, my clients tell me that they do as well...but I have alot of hair and after five years of straightening it I still have a TON of hair...so I know that really doesn't answer your question except that it isn't that uncommon to notice the shedding of hair. We are supossed to lose between 100 to 150 hairs per day, maybe something about the hair chemistry being changed maybe makes it more noticable or because we know we have done a chemical process to our hair we are more aware of it??? Hope this helps

How is your hair normally without this procedure? And how does it leave your hair afterwards? I have done the CHI relaxer but had wanted to try the Japanese straightning.

one of my cousins has really frizzy hair....sometimes it just looks like a big frizz ball...when she got japanese hair straightening it was complete 360...it was stick straight, silky, shiny and alot calmer !