Eyeliner color: black vs. brown

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi! I apologize if this has been asked before, I did a search and I came up empty handed. (I may just be a horrible searcher.)

I'm a make-up novice and I'm getting conflicting advice. I've read and have been told that for brown eyes (like mine, I'm Asian) brown eyeliners work best and that women with my eye color should generally avoid black eyeliners. On the other hand, I've seen many Asian women who use black eyeliners and it looks great. Should avoid this advice?

And I know that it's hard to be general when it comes to make up, but I've just read and heard from so many people that women with brown eyes should use brown eyeliner. Yet, I see so many women who don't.

Thanks for helping this confused novice!
smile.gif

Well, I have noticed that black can tend to make the eyes look smaller. Plus, you also have to consider the look you are going for. If you are pale, and aren't going for a specific, "goth-ish" look, then brown would be a better choice. Eye color really doesn't have much to do with it, since anyone can wear black or brown, but you have to take in other factors like skin color, how big your eyes are, etc.

Thanks for the quick answer, Solimar. That's what I thought as well, but I was just so puzzled by the general statement that brown eyes = brown eyeliner. I thought that I may have been missing something.

I have both and I dont see too much of a difference.

Its just how you apply it and the amount you put on.

Well brown eyes might not stand out much with brown eyeliner, so you could line your upper lashline with black, to kind of "thicken" well, visually thicken your upper lashes, and then line your lower eye with a complimenting color to your eye color. So, you may line your upper with black, and lower might be green.