Is Mineral Make up - BareMinerals I.d bad for my skin?

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I've been hearing a lot of negative things about mineral makeup lately.
I've been using Bare Minerals for 5 years... and noticed the quality of their makeup has gotten worse year by year.
  Anyone else know anything about this?
  thanx in advance,
tongue.gif

NeenaJay

http://neenajay.blogspot.com

http://neenajay.etsy.com

I didn't really want to know the answer to this, BareMinerals is the only foundation that works for me :( /emoticons/[email protected] 2x" width="20" height="20" /> but here's what I came across:

Evidently Bare Minerals has a couple of ingredients that are problematic, bismuth oxychloride and mica. Evidently bismuth oxychloride is known to irritate skin and mica evidently is linked to liver problems and other stuff. My only problem with saying any of this is that I really haven't been able to come across too many reliable sources, it all seems to be speculation. But speculation alone might be enough to get me to switch. I guess it's back to the drawing board for me.

Sources:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1132810/Is-make-killing-There-deadly-poisons-lurking-handbag.html

bismuth oxychloride is a known irritant and it can make you itchy.  not everyone is irritated by it but many are.

Yes, i agree about bismuth oxychloride. When you hear of problems with Bare Minerals, it's because of that specific ingredient. It's what gives you that "glow" they talk about, nothing a translucent powder can do in my opinion.

As for mica, there are people allergic to mica, but it's very rare.

I cannot say if their products are going worse every year, i fell into the Bare Minerals rave myself, but it didn't work because of the bismuth, and also the brushes from the starter kit, too irritating for me.