Is my skin just too bumpy?

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm a male and I'm new to makeup (it's for photography). I've tried applying a primer (Smashbox Photo Finish) with a Mac foundation but I'm not getting the look I want. I don't know if it's the products or if it's just my skin, but I'm having quite the time getting the smooth, matte look I want.

My skin looks sort of like this:

But I want it smooth like this:

I exfoliate my skin and take really good care of it. It's smooth to the touch, but definitely not smooth in looks. It kind of looks like the rocky mountains on my face
biggrin.gif

I'm not sure if females just naturally have smoother skin and achieve the smooth/matte look easier than I. Maybe my skin is actually pretty much OK and I should just hang in there and I'll eventually get the hang of it with some experimentation and practice. Maybe?

Edit: removed links, added photo and video

If your skin has scarring, as most of ours does it is a matter of time and care before it smooths out. If it is in fact just bumpy it may be an allergy issue. In the meantime, it's all about getting it covered.

If you are looking for a matte look, make sure you have a matte foundation that is oil free, shimmer free and spf free or else it will shine a bit. Also are you buffing it in? Some people are great using their hands and some people do better with a more buffed look from the flat brushes. It smoothes the product into the skin. Using some finishing powder will help set it and keep it matte. If you are finding that you are shiny throughout the day (which always makes bumps show) then try using blotting papers occasionally and doing an occasional powder touch up.