Liquid VS Pencil Eyeliner

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I had always used pencil eyeliner (Rimmel Khol black) since I was a novice. I know that liquid eyeliner was not recommended for beginners.

But now I feel like maybe I can give it a try. I have never used liquid eyeliner before. I heard that maybellene is good for first time users.

What are the pros and cons for using liquid and pencil eyeliner?? And which do you prefer???

sure give it a go, heck if you have a eyeliner brush you can use your shadows as a liner , wet the brush w/ water and get a good thick consistency and go for it. thats what i mainly did up until i discovered gel liners. the gel ones are really nice and soo very easy to apply! good luck!

ah thank you!! Eyeliner brush are like eyeshadow brush but smaller right??? Would you recommend an eyeliner brush?

Tomorrow Im getting some brushes from body shop cos they have offers. Im so excited!!

Do you think I should get a smudger, line softener as well??

Im planning to get:

Retractable blusher, retractable lipstick applicator/concealer (I hate wearing lipstick then using my lipgloss applicator over it, it dirties my lipgloss), eyeshadow blender brush, eyeshadow slanted brush, and eyeshadow brush.

I use Revlon colorstay liquid on my upper everyday and love it! I can only use a pencil on my lower though (I am not brave enough to even try)!

Liquid liner is something I had to really play with to figure the best way for me to use it.

I cant wait to get some liquid eyeliner to experiment with. I use pencil alot, I outline my entire eye, then I use a line softener on the tip of one of my eyeliner to smudge the eyeliner to make it look less harsh.

My eyelashes are very invisible... grr, but using eyeliner and mascara makes me look more wide awake.