Platinum Blonde- products, pics, etc.

Makeuptalk.com forums

Help Support Makeuptalk.com forums:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scarlette

Obsessed with lipstick
Reaction score
I wanted to start this thread because I've noticed a lot of message boards and "How-to" DIY guides really do suck. I am NOT a professional colorist, but I've bleached my hair about a million times in my life (my hair is different than anyone elses, so my methods may or may not work for you) I've also taken some of these methods off of message boards from people who have tried them at home and claim that they also work. I actually hope that someone can help me out with this and suggest better products.

My method:

I have naturally thick red hair, medium length.. each strand is thick, so I can imagine that it's hard for the bleach to penetrate it, but it was pre-dyed with blonde hair dye from the drugstore. I normally have to bleach my hair 4 times to achieve the platinum blonde look, but not all in one day.. I bleach it over a period of about a month.

-Jerome Russell powder bleach (Longs drugs)

-Ms. Kay Liquid Developer 40 volume (Sally's)

-Big tinting brush (Sally's)

-Plastic bowl, gloves, wide tooth comb, plastic cap